UK Government Imposes Ban on Some African Countries due to new COVID-19 Variant

The discovery of a new COVID-19 variant in South Africa has led to the United Kingdom imposing travel restriction on six African countries.

The new COVID-19 variant, with the nomenclature B.1.1.529, was discovered in South Africa with cases confirmed in the country as well as in neighboring Botswana and far away Hong Kong.

The country seems to be taking the initiative to mitigate its spread by announcing that travelers from South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho and Eswatini will not be permitted into their borders.

Sajid Javid, the UK Health Secretary, stated that while the UK’s Health Security Agency was still investigating the new variant, they were taking precautionary measures to control its transmission.

Ominous reports from experts reveal that this variant could be the worst and mos lethal so far because of its mutation profile which could see it evade immunity. Early reports indicate that it could reduce vaccine efficiency to just 30 percent.

Find out the Latest Scholarship Opportunities HERE

Check out our forum to ask your questions and find out more about study, travel and migration opportunities abroad


Instagram Linkedin Pinterest

Share This

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *